Go Green: Soap

Listen, we all have to wash and use soap. You have to. But that doesn’t mean you have to hurt the environment by doing so. Most soap ingredients are anti-bacterial. You may be thinking “awesome, germs are bad!”. Not exactly.

Bacteria are an important part of our ecosystem. They enhance the soil, and they recycle dead matter back into the environment. When these chemicals get released into the environment, they can destroy this tiny fauna causing damage like algae spikes. The chemicals also harm fish and other aquatic animals.

Do not fear, my fellow eco warriors! There’s a fix to this!

Now, I’ll be honest, I’m a college student. I just paid a good $400 for textbooks. I cannot spend $20 on a tiny container of soap. So, this list will contain some high end products, but I will do my very best to provide cheaper alternatives to. Then we can spend the money we save on reusable water bottles or bamboo toothbrushes.

Yardley

Ok, Yardley bar soap is my absolute favorite. Biodegradable packaging, natural ingredients, a nice smell. Does it get any better? Yes! They’re cheap! I usually pick up mine from Walmart where I can get one bar for 79 cents. Dollar Tree sells them for – of course – a dollar. It’s also dye free.

Kiss My Face

No, friends, this is not an innuendo. While I haven’t had the chance to personally try this product, the reviews are outstanding! Vegan, gluten-free, and artificial fragrance free, Kiss My Face is great! Just recycle the bottle and you’re on your way to being an even better eco warrior. You go! You can grab a bottle of this for $9 on their website.

Out of Africa

You can see all the magic happening in this powerful little bar of shea butter soap. 100% natural? Check. USDA Organic? Check. Free of artificial fragrance. Check! The package is biodegradable – heck, the bar itself is biodegradable! Add in its heavenly moisturizing abilities and it’s super cheap price – $4 – and this bar is a steal!

So there you have it! It is definitely possible to be eco friendly on a budget, and you can start right in your shower caddy!

Leave a comment